The organizational structure of AUN/SEED-Net is composed of a Steering Committee, Member Institutions, and AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat.

The AUN/SEED-Net is established as a sub-network under the auspices of the AUN, ASEAN Member Countries and Japan, and is composed of the leading engineering institutions in ASEAN Member Countries, in cooperation with Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) and Japanese Supporting Universities.

The AUN/SEED-Net is, in principle, an autonomous network, although it is established under the auspices of the AUN. The representative of the AUN Secretariat, i.e., AUN Executive Director, and the representative of the ASEAN Secretariat are ex-officio members of the AUN/SEED-Net Steering Committee. The AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat informs the AUN Secretariat of its annual plan. The AUN Secretariat coordinates the relations between the AUN/SEED-Net and the ASEAN Secretariat.


List of participants in the 24th AUN/SEED-Net Steering Committee Meeting & Year 2017 Annual Meeting 

List of participants in Japanese Supporting University Consortium, 18 May 2018

The Steering Committee is composed of the AUN Executive Director, the AUN/SEED-Net Executive Director, a representative of ASEAN Secretariat, a representative of the Government of Japan, a representative of JICA, and a representative of Japanese Supporting University Consortium, and the AUN/SEED-Net Chief Advisor as ex-officio members and one representative of the Member Institutions from each of the ASEAN countries. Each ASEAN country selects one dean or higher ranking official from Member Institutions as its representative. The tenure of its position as the representative of each country is two years. Representative of other donors will be ex-officio members of the Steering Committee during the period the AUN/SEED-Net receives contributions from donors.

Functions of the AUN/SEED-Net Steering Committee include:

  1. To formulate policies for the operation of the network.
  2. To review and approve strategic five year plan and annual activity plan prepared by the AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat.
  3. To appoint the Executive Director of the AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat.
  4. To conduct periodic review and evaluation of on-going projects and activities based on the recommendations and assessment of the Executive Director.
  5. To review and approve ideas, innovations or mechanisms for sourcing and generating funds for the realization of a self-reliant and self-sustaining AUN/SEED-Net.
  6. To perform such other functions that may be necessary to carry out the objectives of the AUN/SEED-Net.

Member Institutions including Japanese Supporting University Consortium shall implement to the best of their ability the programs and activities of the AUN/SEED-Net for which prior agreement has been reached. Contributions and commitment on the part of all governments concerned, together with Member Institutions, are necessary for it the implementation of the programs and activities.

Japanese Supporting University Consortium, currently consisting of 14 institutions (about each name, please have a look at ) is part of the network to support the activity of AUN/SEED-Net.

The Committee of Japanese Supporting University Consortium is held periodically, to review the progress
and discuss the direction of activities and specific issues.

AUN/SEED-Net activities are implemented by the AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat with the support of the JICA Project for AUN/SEED-Net office now based at Chulalongkorn University, Thailand.

AUN/SEED-Net Secretariat (as of September 2018)

  Position Name
Executive Chief Advisor and Acting Executive Director Prof. Dr. UEDA  Tamon
Assistant Executive Director Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kasem Choocharukul
Deputy Chief Advisor Mr. MURAKAMI Yusuke
Project Coordinator Mr. Shimazu Hideki
Planning & Capacity Development (PCD) Senior Program Officer Ms. Kultira Tangtatswas
Ms. Wanichar Sukprasertchai
Senior Program Officer/Managing Editor Mr. Piyabut Temyingyong
Program Officer Ms. Manida Pakpian
Ms. Kanokpan Paladech
Ms. Jinjuta Masook
Research & Network Promotion Unit (RNP) Unit Chief/Project Coordinator Mr. IWADATE Hiroshi
Program Officer Ms. Sirin Chakamanont
Ms. Waranuch Tanubamrungsuk
Ms. Siriboon Ketphichai
Ms. Tonghathai Likhitweerawong
Ms. Yada Watanapornmongkol
Resource Management Unit (RM) Unit Chief/Project Coordinator Mr. TAKAHASHI Eiichiro
Assistant Unit Chief Ms. TSUCHII Erina
Senior Secretary Ms. Pannipa Chinavanichkit
Accounting Officer Ms. Paveenut Supanaroek
Program Officer Ms. Sirin Chakamanont